Les avantages de l'embauche d'employés non traditionnels

Si nous savons que trop d'uniformité est mauvaise, pourquoi l'acceptons-nous sur nos lieux de travail ? Palette Skills se penche sur la manière d'instaurer la diversité dans votre organisation !

La diversité est un impératif pour les entreprises

Les films et les livres dystopiques ont un thème commun : tout le monde est pareil. L'uniformité dystopique va au-delà des vêtements que chacun porte et s'étend à la façon dont les gens pensent et se sentent. Mais à la fin de ces histoires, quelqu'un trouve toujours une faiblesse dans le système, et tout s'écroule. Si nous savons que l'uniformité est mauvaise, pourquoi l'accepterions-nous sur notre lieu de travail ? Et plus précisément, quels types de possibilités les entreprises laissent-elles échapper lorsqu'elles négligent les employés non traditionnels ? 

C'est pourquoi l'embauche et les pratiques inclusives sont un élément essentiel de la croissance des entreprises au Canada et dans le monde entier. La constitution d'une main-d'œuvre diversifiée est une compétence à laquelle les gestionnaires d'embauche, les professionnels des ressources humaines et les responsables des ressources humaines doivent accorder la priorité, et la meilleure façon d'y parvenir est de mettre en œuvre des pratiques d'embauche et des pratiques inclusives. les principes de diversité, d'équité et d'inclusion (DEI) dans tous les domaines, de l'embauche à la fidélisation. Le fait est que si vous ne disposez pas d'une boîte à outils d'IED pour votre organisation, vous risquez de compromettre la croissance et les opportunités. 

Apprendre à connaître les employés non traditionnels

Prendre la décision d'embaucher un nouveau salarié est une décision importante. qui coûtera du temps et de l'argent à votre organisation. Il est donc compréhensible que, lorsqu'il s'agit de prendre des décisions en matière d'embauche, nous soyons un peu conservateurs et que nous ayons peur du risque. Bien qu'il puisse sembler plus facile d'embaucher des employés qui correspondent à un moule, nous devons réfléchir attentivement à ce qui suit les avantages de la prise de risque en matière d'embauche. Cela signifie qu'il faut être ouvert et conscient des talents non traditionnels. 

Qui sont donc ces salariés non traditionnels ? Il s'agit d'une catégorie vaste et diversifiée, qui comprend aussi bien des jeunes diplômés que des immigrants et des réfugiés récents, des personnes plus âgées (45 ans et plus), des personnes qui changent de carrière, des travailleurs indépendants et des personnes qui travaillent dans le secteur de la santé. neurodiverse des individus. Ces personnes sont souvent négligées, parfois en raison de préjugés conscients, mais plus souvent, à cause de nos propres préjugés inconscients.

Avant que vous n'arrêtiez de lire, personne ne dit que nous sommes consciemment biaisés lorsqu'il s'agit d'embaucher. Mais la vérité est que nous prenons des décisions importantes sur la base d'émotions et d'expériences dont nous ne sommes pas conscients. C'est pourquoi il est important de disposer d'une boîte à outils pour l'IED. Par exemple, une partie de la boîte à outils DEI d'une organisation devrait inclure un regard au-delà des diplômes traditionnels. Selon ForbesBien que de nombreux facteurs échappent au contrôle du responsable du recrutement, celui-ci peut s'assurer de ne pas trop se fier aux diplômes traditionnels. Les employés non traditionnels, tels que les personnes qui changent de carrière et celles qui possèdent d'autres diplômes, élargissent votre vivier de candidats, sans parler des nouveaux diplômés, des immigrés, des personnes de plus de 45 ans, des travailleurs indépendants et des personnes atteintes de troubles neurodégénératifs. 

Prendre de l'avance dans la course aux talents 

Si vous laissez de côté un groupe d'employés talentueux, volontaires et diversifiés, vous risquez de vous laisser distancer par vos concurrents. De plus, l'élargissement de votre recrutement à des employés non traditionnels vous permettra d'accéder à de nouvelles perspectives et à de nouveaux marchés. Une étude de Harvard Business Review a constaté que les entreprises diversifiées avaient une 19% des recettes d'innovation plus élevées. En outre, recherche de McKinsey a montré que les entreprises dotées d'équipes de direction diversifiées sont plus performantes que leurs concurrentes, et que les entreprises diversifiées sont plus susceptibles de surpasser leurs rivales moins diversifiées en termes de rentabilité. Après tout cela, présentons votre nouveau talent.

Attirer et retenir les nouveaux diplômés au Canada

Même si une personne qui vient d'être diplômée d'une université, d'un collège ou d'une école de métiers a moins d'expérience qu'une personne qui travaille dans ce domaine depuis 20 ans, elle arrive avec des idées fraîches et modernes. En donnant sa chance à un nouveau diplômé, vous trouverez quelqu'un qui a envie d'apprendre et qui peut être encadré. Et parce qu'ils ont grandi autour de la technologie, ils apporteront un niveau de connaissance dont votre entreprise a besoin. 

Embauche inclusive de travailleurs formés à l'étranger

Selon le gouvernement fédéral, un nombre important de Canadiens ont la formation et l'expérience acquises à l'étranger. Ces personnes se heurtent à l'obstacle du manque d'expérience canadienne. Les nouveaux arrivants formés à l'étranger apportent des perspectives nouvelles et diversifiées, ainsi qu'un accès à de nouveaux marchés que vous n'auriez peut-être pas été en mesure d'atteindre.  

De la réorientation de carrière à l'innovation commerciale

Les personnes qui changent de carrière ont travaillé dans d'autres domaines pendant une longue période, ce qui leur confère une valeur inestimable. Une personne issue d'un autre secteur d'activité peut introduire de nouvelles façons de faire les choses. De plus, les compétences non techniques qu'ils ont acquises dans leur(s) autre(s) carrière(s) peuvent s'avérer essentielles. Forbes affirme que les responsables du recrutement devraient faire preuve d'ouverture d'esprit à l'égard des personnes ayant des expériences diverses, simplement parce qu'elles possèdent des compétences transférables qui constituent un atout pour leur nouvel emploi. 

Exploiter le potentiel de croissance des salariés plus âgés

L'âgisme existe dans le processus d'embauche. De nombreux analystes estiment que l'un des types de préjugés les plus importants et les plus problématiques est l'âge, et avec une main-d'œuvre plus âgée, il devient aujourd'hui un défi majeur. Trop souvent, les travailleurs plus âgés sont considérés comme étant plus difficiles à gérer et nécessitant un salaire plus élevé. Mais les travailleurs âgés apportent Les personnes qui font preuve d'un niveau élevé d'intelligence émotionnelle sur le lieu de travail ont tendance à être plus loyales - et même plus innovantes. 

Aider les indépendants et les entreprises à prospérer

Freelance se développent dans tous les secteurs car elles offrent une alternative réaliste et attrayante à la dotation traditionnelle en personnel. Bien qu'elles puissent être plus onéreuses au départ, elles sont moins coûteuses et plus productives à long terme. Les travailleurs indépendants sont souvent plus motivés parce qu'ils sont payés par projet et n'ont pas de temps à perdre. 

Libérer le potentiel des talents neurodiverses

Une personne neurodiverse expérimente et interagit avec le monde qui l'entoure de manière à ce que les personnes traditionnellement tournées vers l'avenir puissent les trouver inhabituelles ou différentes. Bien que le terme fasse référence à de nombreux types de diversité, il est généralement utilisé pour parler des personnes qui sont TDAH, sur le spectre autistiqueet même bipolaire. Ces façons d'être et de voir le monde sont souvent associées à la créativité, mais de nombreuses personnes neurodiverses se heurtent à des obstacles qui les empêchent d'intégrer le monde du travail traditionnel.

S'attaquer à la stratégie et établir des partenariats

Maintenant que nous savons qui sont ces employés non traditionnels et que nous avons une meilleure idée des avantages qu'ils apportent au lieu de travail, voyons comment les inclure dans nos stratégies de recrutement et, à terme, dans nos équipes. Les directeurs des ressources humaines et les responsables des ressources humaines doivent examiner leurs stratégies d'embauche. processusLes entreprises ont besoin de plus de temps pour trouver des candidats et réfléchir de manière critique à la manière dont elles ont trouvé des talents dans le passé. Il y a beaucoup de candidats divers, mais avez-vous la capacité en interne de les voir et de les prendre en considération ? En s'associant avec Compétences en matière de palettes, Les responsables des ressources humaines ont accès à une abondance de candidats qualifiés et diversifiés, ce qui signifie que vous avez plus de temps pour vous concentrer sur votre activité. Ce partenariat offre aux employeurs la possibilité de diversifier leur vivier de talents et de récolter les fruits des talents non traditionnels. 

Vous souhaitez rejoindre notre réseau de personnes qui bouleversent le secteur de l'acquisition de talents ? Rejoignez Palette Skills dès aujourd'hui et devenez l'un de nos nombreux employeurs partenaires !

Cet article a été rédigé par Erica Amery; Collaborations interculturelles 

S'abonner à la lettre d'information

Restez au courant de tout ce qui concerne Palette Skills.

Suivez-nous
Messages récents
Clean Technology - The clean technology sector in Canada not only drives economic growth but also offers a pathway for upskilled individuals to contribute to a sustainable future, providing employment opportunities in innovative fields that address environmental challenges and positively impact the quality of life for Canadians.
clean technology

Skills and talent needed in clean technology

Clean technology will enhance Canada’s global competitiveness and economic growth, in addition to helping us reach important decarbonization efforts, reconciliation strategies, and create better employment opportunities in a net-zero economy.

Lire plus
Bioproduction

Building skills, finding talent in biomanufacturing

Everyone needs to find their place in the future economy, which will be led by knowledge-intensive sectors like biotech and biomanufacturing. For job-seekers, our programs will help you upskill into a great career.

Lire plus
advanced manufacturing

Find careers, talent in advanced manufacturing

The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association reports that over 80% of companies face labor and skills shortages. Companies need new talent for advanced technology adoption, while workers require quick, industry-relevant upskilling programs.

Lire plus

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Être en recherche active d'emploi et prêt à saisir les opportunités d'emploi dans le domaine de la vente de technologies.
  • Être en mesure de travailler légalement au Canada 
  • Ne pas être un étudiant à temps plein.
  • Être une personne très motivée, à la recherche active de nouvelles opportunités.
  • Avoir au moins 3 ans d'expérience professionnelle formelle au Canada ou à l'étranger.
  • Avoir un niveau d'anglais de 8 dans le cadre des NCLC ou de 6,5 dans le cadre de l'IELTS.
  • Être disponible pour les sessions Zoom, dont beaucoup seront à temps plein.
  • Être capable de participer à des journées de réseautage dans le cadre de la programmation régulière et s'engager à le faire.
  • Être à l'aise avec la technologie et l'apprentissage en ligne.
  • Vivre ou avoir l'intention de vivre dans la province où le programme est offert.
  • Disposer d'une connexion Internet fiable, d'un appareil et d'un environnement calme pour l'apprentissage virtuel.
  • S'engager et être capable de rejoindre le Main d'œuvre canadienne à temps plein immédiatement après le programme.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Télécharger la fiche d'information

Télécharger la fiche d'information

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des cours à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

fbpx

The benefits of hiring nontraditional employees

If we know that too much uniformity is bad, why do we accept it in our workplaces? Palette Skills looks at how to build diversity in your organization!

Diversity is a business imperative

There’s a common theme in dystopian movies and books, and it’s that everyone is the same. Dystopian uniformity goes beyond the kinds of clothes that everyone wears, and includes the way people think and feel. But by the end of these stories, someone always finds a weakness in the system, and the whole thing comes crashing down. So if we know that uniformity is bad, why would we accept it in our workplaces? And more to the point, what kinds of possibilities are companies missing out on when they overlook nontraditional employees? 

That’s why inclusive hiring and practices are an essential part of business growth in Canada and around the world. Building a diverse workforce is a skill that hiring managers, HR professionals, and people leaders need to prioritize, and the best way to do this is to implement diversity, equity, and inclusion (DEI) principles in everything from hiring to retention. The fact is, if you don’t have a DEI toolkit for your organization, you are risking growth and opportunity. 

Get to know nontraditional employees

Making a decision to hire a new employee is a big deal—and one that will cost your organization time and money. So it’s understandable that when it comes to hiring decisions, we can be a little conservative and afraid of risk. While it may seem easier to hire employees that fit a mold, we need to think carefully about the benefits of risk-taking when it comes to hiring. And this means being open to, and aware of, nontraditional talent. 

So who are these nontraditional employees? The category is large and diverse, and can include everyone from new grads to recent immigrants and refugees, older people (45 +), career switchers, freelancers and neurodiverse individuals. These are the kinds of people who are often overlooked, sometimes because of conscious bias, but more often, because of our own unconscious biases.

Before you stop reading, no-one is saying we are consciously biased when it comes to hiring. But the truth is, we make important decisions based on emotions and experiences we aren’t aware of. And that’s why having a DEI toolkit is important. For example, part of an organization’s DEI toolkit should include looking beyond traditional degrees. According to Forbes, there are many factors outside of a hiring manager’s control, but they can make sure not to rely too much on traditional degrees. Nontraditional employees such as career switchers and people with alternative credentials expand your pool of candidates, let alone new grads, immigrants, the 45 + crowd, freelancers, and the neurodiverse. 

Get ahead in the race for talent 

If you leave out any group of talented, willing, and diverse employees, you risk falling behind your competition. And more than that, expanding your hiring to include nontraditional employees will help you gain access to new perspectives and markets. A study from Harvard Business Review found that diverse companies had a 19% higher innovation revenue. Moreover, research from McKinsey found that companies with diverse executive teams outperform their competitors, and that diverse companies are more likely to outperform less diverse rivals when it comes to profitability. So with all that, let’s get introduced to your new talent.

Attract and retain new grads in Canada

While someone who’s just graduated from university, college or trades school may have less experience than someone in the field for 20 years, they come with fresh and state of the art ideas.  By giving a new grad a chance, you’ll find someone who’s eager to learn, and coachable. And because they’ve grown up around technology, they’ll bring a level of savvy your company needs. 

Inclusive hiring for internationally trained workers

According to the federal government, a significant number of Canadians have training and experience acquired outside of Canada. These are people facing the barrier of not enough Canadian experience. Internationally trained newcomers bring fresh and diverse perspectives, and access to new markets you may not have been able to reach.  

From career switchers to business innovators

Career switchers have worked in other fields for a significant time, and that makes them invaluable. Someone from a different industry can introduce new ways of doing things. And the soft skills they’ve acquired in their other career(s) may be critical. Forbes argues that hiring managers should bring an open mind to people with diverse experiences, simply because they have transferable skills that are an asset to their new job. 

Harness the power of older employees for growth

Ageism is a thing in the hiring process. Many analysts believe that one of the biggest and most problematic types of bias is age, and with an older workforce, it’s now becoming a major challenge. Too often, older workers are seen as being more difficult to manage, and requiring higher pay. But older workers bring a high level of emotional intelligence to the workplace and tend to be more loyal—and even more innovative. 

Help freelancers and businesses thrive

Freelance solutions are popping up in every industry because they offer a realistic and attractive alternative to traditional staffing. While they may be more expensive upfront, over the long run, they are less expensive and more productive.  Freelance workers are often more motivated because they are paid per project, and do not have time to waste. 

Unlocking the potential of neurodiverse talent

A person who is neurodiverse experiences and interacts with the world around them in ways that traditionally-minded people might find unusual or different. While the term refers to many types of diversity, it’s commonly used to speak about people who are ADHD, on the autism spectrum, and even bipolar. These ways of being in and seeing the world are often associated with creativity, yet many neurodiverse individuals face barriers to joining the conventional workplace.

Get down to strategy and build partnerships

Now that we have an idea who these non-traditional employees are, and have a better sense of the benefits they bring to the workplace, let’s look at how to include them in our hiring strategies, and eventually, in our teams. HR managers and people leaders need to look at their hiring processes, and think critically about how they’ve sourced talent in the past. There are lots of diverse candidates, but do you have the in-house ability to really see and consider them? By partnering with Palette Skills, HR managers get access to an abundance of skilled and diverse candidates, which means you have more time to focus on your business. It’s a partnership that offers employers the opportunity to diversify their talent pool, and reap the benefits of non-traditional talent. 

Want to join our network of people disrupting the talent acquisition industry? Join with Palette Skills today, and become one of our many employer partners!

This article was written by Erica Amery; Intercultural Collaborations 

Subscribe Newsletter

Keep up to date & stay in touch with all things Palette Skills

Recent posts
Clean technology by Palette Skills
clean technology

Build your career now in clean technology

Are you keeping up with the new opportunities available in clean technology? You should be, because the number of new careers available to Canadian workers in what’s known as environmental and clean technology (ECT) is pretty much as wide as the horizon. In fact, according to some experts, jobs in ECT are predicted to grow as much as 50% by 2030.

Read More »
B2B tech sales challenges
Tech sales

Five common challenges in B2B tech sales and how to overcome them

B2B (Business-to-business) tech sales can be tricky. This blog breaks down five common challenges sales teams often face. From making complex decisions to dealing with resistance to change, we have practical tips to help you overcome these issues. Let’s tackle these obstacles together and make B2B tech sales a bit easier!

Read More »

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Be actively searching for work and ready to take on employment opportunities tech sales.
  • Be able to legally work in Canada. 
  • Not be a full-time student.
  • Be a highly motivated individual actively seeking out new opportunities.
  • Have least 3 years of formal work experience in Canada or abroad.
  • Have an English language rating of CLB Level 8, or IELTS of 6.5 overall.
  • Be available for Zoom sessions, many of which will be full-time.
  • Be able and committed to attending networking day events as part of regular programming.
  • Be comfortable using technology and learning online.
  • Live or intend to live in the province where the program is being offered.
  • Have a reliable internet connection, device, and a quiet environment for virtual learning.
  • Be committed and able to join the Canadian workforce full-time immediately following the program.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Download the Fact Sheet

Download the Fact Sheet

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue