fbpx

Tout ce que vous vouliez savoir sur les questions d'entretien comportemental, mais que vous n'osiez pas demander.

Vous allez bientôt passer un entretien d'embauche ? Dans ce cas, vous devez vous familiariser avec ce que l'on appelle les questions d'entretien comportementales. Elles peuvent être intimidantes, mais nous avons un guide pour vous aider à donner de bonnes réponses !

Préparez-vous à répondre aux questions

Vous avez tout fait correctement. Vous avez recherché une opportunité de carrière dans une grande entreprise, vous avez pris le temps de rédiger une lettre de motivation. une lettre de motivation simple et convaincante, et vous avez adapté votre CV à l'offre d'emploi que vous souhaitez..

Jusqu'à présent, tout va bien.

L'entreprise vous a rappelé pour vous proposer un entretien. Et maintenant ? Les entretiens d'embauche peuvent être agréables, mais ils peuvent aussi être stressants. L'une des parties de l'entretien d'embauche que les gens trouvent les plus difficiles est celle où on leur pose des questions sur quelque chose qu'ils ont fait dans un lieu de travail ou une situation professionnelle précédents. C'est ce qu'on appelle questions d'entretien comportementalet il peut être difficile d'y répondre. Examinons donc l'historique de ce type de questions, les raisons pour lesquelles elles sont utilisées et une stratégie simple à mettre en œuvre pour donner des réponses gagnantes pour l'emploi.

Questions comportementales : un historique

Vous ne le croyez peut-être pas, mais les entretiens d'embauche n'ont pas toujours existé et on ne vous a pas toujours posé des questions sur ce que vous avez fait dans le passé pour pouvoir décrocher un emploi à l'avenir. La plupart des gens pensent que l'entretien d'embauche moderne a été inventé par Thomas Edison, l'inventeur de l'ampoule électrique. L'histoire raconte qu'il a dressé une liste de questions à l'intention des travailleurs potentiels et que, si certaines de ces questions étaient directement liées aux emplois auxquels les travailleurs postulaient, d'autres étaient plus générales, allant parfois jusqu'à poser des questions sur des sujets tels que les connaissances géographiques.

Avance rapide jusqu'aux années 1980, lorsque les questions comportementales modernes ont été développées par Dr. Tom Janzpsychologue du travail. Son idée était que la connaissance des comportements passés pourrait aider les spécialistes des ressources humaines à prédire les comportements futursLes candidats qui peuvent décrire comment ils ont réussi à gérer une situation difficile sur le lieu de travail dans le passé peuvent probablement compter sur eux pour le faire à nouveau à l'avenir.

S'assouplir

Au fur et à mesure que la science et la pratique de l'entretien d'embauche se sont développées, les questions ouvertes sur le comportement sont devenues des outils clés pour évaluer les compétences critiques qui sont de plus en plus appréciées sur les lieux de travail d'aujourd'hui. Ces compétences essentielles sont connues sous le nom de "soft skills" (compétences non techniques).et les employeurs en De nombreux domaines différents recherchent des personnes qui peuvent apporter ce type de compétences à la table.

En effet, comme le précise ce guide intelligent à l'intention des employeursLes questions comportementales sont le meilleur moyen pour votre interlocuteur de savoir où vous vous situez en ce qui concerne les 6 compétences non techniques importantes suivantes. Il s'agit de :

  1. Adaptabilité
  2. Adaptation à la culture
  3. Collaboration
  4. Leadership
  5. Potentiel de croissance
  6. Établissement de priorités

 

Supposons, par exemple, que votre employeur potentiel souhaite connaître votre capacité d'adaptation. Le poste pour lequel vous passez l'entretien peut nécessiter de porter différentes casquettes, d'effectuer différentes tâches ou même d'être capable d'improviser des procédures à la volée. Au cours de l'entretien, il est donc probable que l'on vous pose une question de ce type :

"Parlez-moi d'une fois où vous avez dû faire quelque chose de nouveau au travail. Quelque chose pour lequel vous n'étiez peut-être pas prêt. Comment avez-vous géré la situation ? Qu'avez-vous fait ?"

Vous voyez comment cela fonctionne ? Imaginez maintenant que votre employeur potentiel veuille en savoir plus sur votre capacité à collaborer, qui est une compétence non technique fondamentale. Il se peut qu'ils vous posent une question comme celle-ci :

"Pouvez-vous décrire une situation dans laquelle vous avez dû travailler avec une personne avec laquelle il était difficile de s'entendre ? Quel genre de choses avez-vous fait ? Comment vous êtes-vous débrouillé ?"

Ces exemples montrent clairement que ce type de questions est important pour les employeurs, ce qui signifie qu'il est également important pour vous de donner les bonnes réponses. Jetons donc un coup d'œil sur une stratégie utile que vous pouvez utiliser pour donner des réponses efficaces-Non seulement pour l'employeur, mais aussi pour vous.

Cherchez la STAR

A La méthode STAR est une excellente stratégie pour traiter les questions d'entretien comportementales.. STAR est un acronyme qui signifie Situation, Tâche, Actionet Résultat. Passons-les en revue rapidement, afin que vous sachiez comment répondre aux questions comportementales les plus difficiles. Si vous pouvez vous souvenir du mot "STAR" lors d'un entretien d'embauche, vous serez en bonne position pour répondre facilement et de manière convaincante à toutes les questions. La dernière chose que vous souhaitez, c'est d'avoir un blanc et de ne pas avoir de réponse du tout. Croyez-nous quand nous disons que cela peut arriver à n'importe qui, surtout s'il n'est pas préparé. Vous êtes prêt ?

Situation

C'est ici que vous devez travailler votre capacité à raconter une histoire rapidement et efficacement. Lorsqu'un employeur vous pose une question commençant par la phrase "Parlez-moi d'un moment où...", c'est pour vous l'occasion de planter le décor. Ne passez pas trop de temps ici, mais concentrez-vous plutôt sur les détails dont l'employeur a besoin pour comprendre la situation dans laquelle vous vous trouviez. Faisiez-vous partie d'une équipe ? Travailliez-vous seul ? Combien de temps s'est-il écoulé ?

Tâche

C'est ici que vous entrez dans les détails de ce que vous faisiez. N'oubliez pas que vous devez faire en sorte que ces informations soient compréhensibles et qu'elles représentent un défi à relever. Pensez à ce que nous appelons ici l'arc narratif. Si vous parlez d'une tâche facile à accomplir et que vous dites ensuite que vous l'avez fait, ce n'est pas vraiment une histoire.

Action

C'est là que les choses deviennent intéressantes. Vous avez planté le décor et décrit la tâche - ou le défi - que vous avez dû relever. Vous devez maintenant répondre à la question suivante : comment avez-vous fait ? Ce que vous avez fait était-il innovant ou inhabituel ? Était-ce courageux ou honnête ? Avez-vous établi un lien là où il n'y en avait pas auparavant ? Réfléchissez au contexte de la question et soyez prêt à reconnaître les mérites des autres, surtout si la collaboration et le travail d'équipe sont importants pour la personne qui pose la question.

Résultat

D'une certaine manière, cette dernière partie de la technique STAR peut s'avérer la plus difficile, mais il est essentiel de la réussir. Vous devez aller au-delà de la description du défi auquel vous avez été confronté et expliquer comment ce que vous avez fait a bénéficié à votre entourage, à l'organisation pour laquelle vous avez travaillé et, peut-être un peu, comment ce que vous avez fait - et comment vous l'avez fait - vous a aidé. Vous devez être capable d'aller au-delà des détails et d'expliquer pourquoi c'était important. Et n'oubliez pas que même si vous n'avez pas réussi, vous et votre équipe avez peut-être appris quelque chose d'important et votre organisation a changé sa façon de travailler. C'est une chose très importante et précieuse qu'un employeur peut entendre de la bouche d'un futur employé.

Renforcez toujours vos compétences en matière d'entretien

Lire des articles sur les stratégies permettant de gagner une carrière est une chose, mais les mettre en pratique en est une autre. Il est clair que la meilleure façon d'apprendre à traiter des questions comportementales complexes est de de s'entraîner à répondre aux questions. Le fait est que pour réussir un entretien, il faut développer ses compétences en la matière et mettre à profit ce que l'on a appris à chaque nouvelle occasion d'entretien.

Si vous envisagez de postuler à un nouvel emploi ou de vous réorienter vers une nouvelle carrière, pensez aux Cours de perfectionnement offerts par Palette Skills. Car, en plus d'apprendre tous les tenants et aboutissants d'un nouveau domaine comme les ventes technologiques interentreprises (B2B), des programmes de perfectionnement tels que SalesCamp vous offre la possibilité de bénéficier d'un coaching personnalisé en matière de carrière et d'entretien afin que vous puissiez construire la carrière de vos rêves !

S'abonner à la lettre d'information

Restez au courant de tout ce qui concerne Palette Skills.

Suivez-nous
Messages récents
Clean Technology - The clean technology sector in Canada not only drives economic growth but also offers a pathway for upskilled individuals to contribute to a sustainable future, providing employment opportunities in innovative fields that address environmental challenges and positively impact the quality of life for Canadians.
clean technology

Skills and talent needed in clean technology

Clean technology will enhance Canada’s global competitiveness and economic growth, in addition to helping us reach important decarbonization efforts, reconciliation strategies, and create better employment opportunities in a net-zero economy.

Lire plus
Bioproduction

Building skills, finding talent in biomanufacturing

Everyone needs to find their place in the future economy, which will be led by knowledge-intensive sectors like biotech and biomanufacturing. For job-seekers, our programs will help you upskill into a great career.

Lire plus
advanced manufacturing

Find careers, talent in advanced manufacturing

The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association reports that over 80% of companies face labor and skills shortages. Companies need new talent for advanced technology adoption, while workers require quick, industry-relevant upskilling programs.

Lire plus

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Être en recherche active d'emploi et prêt à saisir les opportunités d'emploi dans le domaine de la vente de technologies.
  • Être en mesure de travailler légalement au Canada 
  • Ne pas être un étudiant à temps plein.
  • Être une personne très motivée, à la recherche active de nouvelles opportunités.
  • Avoir au moins 3 ans d'expérience professionnelle formelle au Canada ou à l'étranger.
  • Avoir un niveau d'anglais de 8 dans le cadre des NCLC ou de 6,5 dans le cadre de l'IELTS.
  • Être disponible pour les sessions Zoom, dont beaucoup seront à temps plein.
  • Être capable de participer à des journées de réseautage dans le cadre de la programmation régulière et s'engager à le faire.
  • Être à l'aise avec la technologie et l'apprentissage en ligne.
  • Vivre ou avoir l'intention de vivre dans la province où le programme est offert.
  • Disposer d'une connexion Internet fiable, d'un appareil et d'un environnement calme pour l'apprentissage virtuel.
  • S'engager et être capable de rejoindre le Main d'œuvre canadienne à temps plein immédiatement après le programme.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Télécharger la fiche d'information

Télécharger la fiche d'information

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des cours à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

fbpx

Everything you wanted to know about behavioural interview questions, but were afraid to ask

Have a job interview coming up? Then you'll need to learn about what are called behavioural interview questions. They can be intimidating, but we've got a guide for giving great answers!

Get ready for questions

You’ve done everything right. You’ve researched a career opportunity at a great company, you’ve taken the time to write a simple and compelling cover letter, and you have tailored your CV for the job opportunity you want.

So far, so good.

Now the company has called you back to ask for an interview. So what next? Job interviews can be enjoyable, but the truth is they can also be stressful. And one of the parts of the job interview people find most challenging is when they are asked about something they did in a previous workplace or career situation. These are called behavioral interview questions, and they can be tough to answer. So let’s take a look at the history of these kinds of questions, why they get used, and look at a simple strategy you can use to give job-winning responses.

Behavioral questions: a history

You may not believe this, but there haven’t always been job interviews, and there haven’t always been questions about something you did in the past so you can land a job in the future. Most people think that the modern job interview was invented by Thomas Edison, the person who invented the light bulb. The story goes that he came up with a list of questions for potential workers, and while some of these questions were directly related to jobs workers were applying for, other questions were more general, sometimes even asking about things like knowledge of geography.

Fast forward to the 1980s, when modern behavioral questions were developed by Dr. Tom Janz, an industrial psychologist. His idea was that learning about past behaviours could help HR specialists make predictions about future behaviours, and that if a candidate could describe how they successfully managed a difficult workplace situation in the past, they could probably be counted on do it again in the future.

Going soft

As the science and practice of the job interview has developed, open-ended behaviour questions are now key tools for evaluating critical skills that are more and more valued in today’s workplaces. These critical skills are what are known as soft skills, and employers in many different fields are looking for people who can bring these kinds of skills to the table.

In fact, as this smart guide for employers makes clear, behavioural questions are the best way for your interviewer to find where you rank when it comes to the following 6 important soft skills. And these are:

  1. Adaptability
  2. Culture fit
  3. Collaboration
  4. Leadership
  5. Growth potential
  6. Prioritization

 

So for example, let’s say your potential employer wants to find out how adaptable you are. The job you’re interviewing for may require wearing different hats, or doing different tasks, or even being able to improvise procedures on the fly. So during your interview, it’s likely you’ll get a question like this:

“Tell me about a time when you had to do something new at work. Something maybe you weren’t ready for. How did you handle the situation? What did you do?”

See how it works? Now, imagine if your potential employer wants to know about your ability to collaborate, which is a fundamental soft skill. They might ask you a question like this one:

“Can you describe a situation when you had to work with someone who was hard to get along with? What kinds of things did you do? How did you manage?”

From these examples, it should be clear by now that these kinds of questions are important for employers, which means that giving the right answers has to be important for you, too. So let’s take a look at a helpful strategy you can use to give answers that work—not only for the employer—but for you as well.

Look for the STAR

A great strategy for handling behavioural interview questions is called the STAR method. STAR is an acronym that stands for Situation, Task, Action, and Result. Let’s go through these quickly, so you’ll know how to handle even the toughest behavioural questions. If you can remember the word “STAR” in a job interview, you’ll be in a good position to answer any questions easily, and convincingly. The last thing you want to happen is to draw a blank, and not have any answer at all. Believe us when we say that this can happen to anyone, especially if they’re unprepared. Ready?

Situation

Here’s where you need to work on your ability to tell a story quickly and effectively. When an employer asks you a question that begins with the phrase “tell me about a time when…” it’s a cue for you to set the scene. Don’t spend too much time here, but focus instead on providing all the necessary details the employer needs to understand the situation you were in. Were you part of a team? Working alone? How long ago was it?

Task

Here’s where you get into the nuts and bolts of what it was you were doing. Remember you have to make this information relatable, and you have to make it stand out as a challenge. Think of what we call the story arc here. If you talk about an easy task you had to perform, and then say you just did it, that’s not much of a story.

Action

Here’s where things get interesting. You’ve set the scene, and you’ve outlined the task—or the challenge—you had to face. So now you have to answer the question: how did you do it? Was what you did innovative or unusual? Was it brave or honest? Did you build a connection where there was none before? Think about the context of the question, and be prepared to give credit to others, especially if collaboration and teamwork are important for the person asking the question.

Result

In some ways, this last part of the STAR technique can be the most difficult, but it’s critical to get it right. You have to go beyond describing the challenge you faced, and talk about how what you did benefitted people around you, the organization you worked for, and maybe just a little, how what you did—and how you did it—helped you. You want to be able to get beyond the details, and explain why it mattered. And remember, even if you weren’t successful, maybe the result was that you and your team learned something important, and your organization changed the way it did business. That’s a very important and valuable thing for an employer to hear from a prospective employee.

Always build your interview skills

Reading about career-winning strategies is one thing, but practicing them is another. And clearly, the best way to learn how to handle complex behavioural questions is to practice answering them. The fact is, doing well in an interview is all about building your interview skills, and bringing what you’ve learned to every new interview opportunity.

If you’ve been thinking about applying for a new job, or transitioning to a new career, consider the upskilling courses offered by Palette Skills. Because, in addition to learning all the ins and outs of a new field like business-to-business (B2B) tech sales, upskilling programs like SalesCamp offer you the chance to get 1:1 career and interview coaching so you can build the career of your dreams!

Subscribe Newsletter

Keep up to date & stay in touch with all things Palette Skills

Recent posts
advanced manufacturing

Find careers, talent in advanced manufacturing

The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association reports that over 80% of companies face labor and skills shortages. Companies need new talent for advanced technology adoption, while workers require quick, industry-relevant upskilling programs.

Read More »

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Be actively searching for work and ready to take on employment opportunities tech sales.
  • Be able to legally work in Canada. 
  • Not be a full-time student.
  • Be a highly motivated individual actively seeking out new opportunities.
  • Have least 3 years of formal work experience in Canada or abroad.
  • Have an English language rating of CLB Level 8, or IELTS of 6.5 overall.
  • Be available for Zoom sessions, many of which will be full-time.
  • Be able and committed to attending networking day events as part of regular programming.
  • Be comfortable using technology and learning online.
  • Live or intend to live in the province where the program is being offered.
  • Have a reliable internet connection, device, and a quiet environment for virtual learning.
  • Be committed and able to join the Canadian workforce full-time immediately following the program.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Download the Fact Sheet

Download the Fact Sheet

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue