fbpx

Le perfectionnement des compétences au service d’une économie plus forte

Bâtir un Canada inclusif et concurrentiel à l’échelle internationale

Notre vision est celle d'un Canada où toutes les personnes et organisations prospèrent grâce à une économie compétitive et inclusive à l'échelle mondiale. Nous croyons que l'un des meilleurs moyens d'y parvenir est de développer les compétences nécessaires pour assurer l'avenir des entreprises et des travailleurs canadiens. 

Influencer le cours des choses

Maximisez le potentiel illimité de chacun

Palette Skills est un chef de file dans la prestation de programmes de perfectionnement rapide conçus pour permettre aux Canadiens d'accéder à des carrières très recherchées. Nous travaillons avec des partenaires industriels dans l'économie du savoir et de la technologie, qui connaît une croissance rapide au pays. Nous savons que le Canada possède l'une des mains-d'œuvre les plus instruites et les plus diversifiées au monde. Mais les entreprises canadiennes prometteuses peuvent avoir du mal à trouver des talents possédant les bonnes compétences et aptitudes. 

C'est un exemple de ce qu'on appelle le déficit de compétences au Canada : des travailleurs qui n'ont pas le savoir-faire pour les emplois créés dans les secteurs émergents de l'économie, mais qui possèdent les compétences de base pour faire le travail. Bien qu'il y ait des débats sur l'ampleur du déficit de compétences du pays, on s'entend pour dire que le Canada a besoin d'un cadre national de compétences..

CE QUE NOUS FAISONS

Nous offrons aux Canadiennes et aux Canadiens le perfectionnement recherché par les industries en croissance

Faire en sorte que des entreprises novatrices trouvent les talents dont elles ont besoin et aider les gens à trouver un emploi intéressant constituent les deux volets d’une même stratégie. Palette Skills a pour mission d’aider les entreprises canadiennes les plus novatrices à accéder à des bassins de talents inutilisés en proposant des possibilités de perfectionnement accéléré des compétences de nature à enrichir les pépinières de nouveaux talents pour des postes en forte demande.

Nous utilisons notre expertise pour créer une coalition de partenaires.

La formation continue est la solution

En collaboration avec des employeurs, des groupes communautaires, des universités de premier plan et d'autres établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire, nos programmes de perfectionnement professionnel font une différence, dès maintenant. 

Rien qu'en 2021, nous avons formé plus de 250 participants dans plusieurs cohortes grâce à notre programme SalesCamp programs. Dans les six mois suivant la fin du programme, 96 % des diplômés ont reçu au moins une offre d'emploi et 36 % de nos diplômés ont reçu une promotion ou sont passés à un meilleur poste.

Qu'est-ce qui fait le succès de nos programmes ? Une partie essentielle de la réponse réside dans nos partenariats industriels. 

Canada national upskilling
Driven by industry
Tout ce que nous faisons est guidé et informé par l'industrie

L'industrie et les résultats en tête

Nous travaillons avec l'industrie... Palette Skills établit des relations avec les leaders du secteur privé pour identifier les compétences dont l'industrie a le plus besoin. Ce sont des entreprises innovantes en croissance : 72 % de nos employeurs partenaires sont des PME de 200 employés ou moins. Rien qu'en 2021, nous avons établi des partenariats avec 86 employeurs, dont près de la moitié sont revenus pour aider à améliorer les compétences de nouvelles cohortes de Canadiens talentueux qui cherchent à se construire des carrières enrichissantes. 

Le perfectionnement n'est pas la même chose que la formation.

Pourquoi le renforcement des compétences fonctionne

Alors que les programmes de formation traditionnels enseignent aux gens un ensemble de nouvelles compétences, le perfectionnement professionnel se concentre sur ce qu'il faut pour permettre à quelqu'un d'accéder à un nouvel emploi, en adoptant une approche plus large qui place l'apprenant dans le contexte d'un parcours professionnel tout au long de sa vie. Si l'acquisition de nouvelles compétences techniques est un élément essentiel de la montée en compétence, il en va de même pour le développement des compétences professionnelles et l'établissement de réseaux pertinents pour le secteur.

Ces compétences humaines, les aptitudes - comme la communication, la négociation ou le réseautage - sont un ensemble sophistiqué de compétences qui constituent souvent le facteur le plus déterminant pour la réussite professionnelle tout au long de la vie. Les relations avec l'industrie sont essentielles pour mener à bien une recherche d'emploi.

Tech Sales Jobs Canada
VOUS AVEZ UNE QUESTION?

Questions fréquentes

Palette Skills collabore avec certaines des meilleures universités de recherche du Canada. Avec les idées de nos partenaires du secteur privé et de l'industrie, nos programmes et nos activités s'inspirent des recherches et des pratiques actuelles. Si vous avez une idée pour développer ensemble le savoir et la recherche, nous vous invitons à nous contacter.

La réflexion sur la montée en compétence et son rôle dans l'économie évolue rapidement. N'oubliez pas de consulter cette page ou de faire une recherche sur notre site web. Actualités et blog secteur. Enfin, vous pouvez vous tenir au courant en nous suivant sur Twitter et LinkedIn, où nous publions régulièrement les dernières recherches, analyses et opinions sur le perfectionnement professionnel au Canada et dans le monde. 

Pour que le renforcement des compétences soit efficace, il doit répondre aux besoins des entreprises en pleine croissance. Nous consultons nos partenaires du secteur privé et de la recherche pour identifier les principaux domaines de croissance réelle. L'accent que nous mettons sur le perfectionnement axé sur la demande signifie que nous sommes toujours à l'écoute du terrain, afin d'identifier les compétences et les secteurs les plus demandés. Visitez notre Page des partenaires pour en savoir davantage sur notre façon de travailler avec nos collaborateurs!

Nous travaillons en partenariat avec des entreprises en pleine croissance, des associations, des collèges et universités, des groupes de développement économique, des groupes de recherche et d’autres organismes à but non lucratif. Nous sommes ouverts à la collaboration avec toute autre organisation engagée dans le perfectionnement des compétences et la diversité et disposée à faire du Canada un pays plus fort et plus inclusif.

Comme tous les organismes à but non lucratif, Palette Skills bénéficie de la participation d'un conseil d'administration diversifié et engagé, notamment de la contribution de nos 11 membres fondateurs. Ces derniers comprennent le Conseil canadien des affaires, le Conseil des innovateurs canadiens, le Business Council of British Columbia, le Brookfield Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, l'Université Simon Fraser, l'Université de Calgary, l'Université Dalhousie, l'Université de Guelph, l'Université Laval, l'Université de Saskatchewan et l'Université de Toronto.

Pour en savoir plus sur l'équipe de Palette Skills, consultez le site suivant Notre équipe ici.

Chez Palette Skills, nous nous engageons à favoriser une économie plus équitable, prospère et résiliente. Nous croyons que l'inclusion et la diversité sont une source d'innovation et de force. Palette Skills a constitué une équipe aux origines, aux perspectives et aux compétences diverses. Nous savons que ces engagements sont à l'origine du succès de notre organisation - et de notre personnel. Nous sommes convaincus que plus nous sommes inclusifs, meilleur sera notre travail.

Notre participants viennent d'horizons divers et apportent une riche expérience au parcours de perfectionnement. Un grand nombre de participants à nos programmes sont des femmes, un nombre important sont des personnes de couleur, et beaucoup d'autres sont des néo-Canadiens. Ce qui les rassemble tous, c'est le désir d'acquérir de nouvelles compétences et de bâtir de nouvelles carrières. 

Nous concevons, développons et offrons actuellement des programmes dans les domaines très demandés de la vente B2B et de la technologie agricole. Nous explorons activement de nouveaux programmes pour répondre aux défis spécifiques des secteurs clés dans les domaines de l'agro-technologie, de la gestion de la chaîne d'approvisionnement, de la fabrication avancée et de la fin-technologie. 

Nous sommes un organisme national sans but lucratif financé en partie par l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario du gouvernement du Canada et par la province de l'Ontario. Nous recevons des fonds supplémentaires d'organisations comme Innovate B.C. et Protein Industries Canada. 

Ressources

Perfectionnez vos compétences et lancez votre carrière

Agtech

How to lead stronger teams on Canadian farms

We no longer manage people the way we once did; new school leadership suggests managing people the way they want to be managed. The secret is to keep your people running at their best by understanding what motivates and drives them to give 110%. Your number one people challenge on the farm turns out to be managing different personalities and attitudes.

Lire plus
B2b tech sales
Career Transitions

Moving up the Ranks in B2B Tech Sales

The tech sector continues to drive pandemic recovery in Canada, which means that B2B tech sales is a great choice if you’re looking for a career change. So what about making a good living, and moving up the ladder in a new B2B career?

Lire plus

Nullam quis risus eget urna mollis ornare vel eu leo. Aenean lacinia bibendum nulla sed 

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

fbpx

Upskilling for a stronger economy

Building An Inclusive, Globally Competitive Canada

Our vision is a Canada where all people and organizations thrive as the result of a globally competitive and inclusive economy. We believe one of the best ways we can make this happen is by building skills to future-proof Canadian business and workers. 

Making an impact

Amplifying The Boundless Potential Of People.

Palette Skills is a leader in delivering rapid upskilling programs designed to transition Canadians into high-demand careers. We work with industry partners in the country’s fast-growing knowledge and technology economy. We know Canada has one of the most educated and diverse workforces in the world. But promising Canadian companies can struggle to find talent with the right skills and aptitude. 

It’s an example of Canada’s so-called skills gap—workers lacking the know-how for jobs being created in emerging sectors of the economy, but having the foundational skills to do the work. While there are debates about the scope of the country’s skills gap, there is agreement that Canada needs a national skills framework.

How we work

Upskilling Canadians For Growing Industries

Ensuring innovative companies find the talent they need and helping people find meaningful employment are two sides of the same strategy. At Palette Skills, our mission is to help Canada’s most innovative companies access untapped talent by creating rapid upskilling opportunities that result in new pipelines of talent for high demand roles.

We're using our expertise to build a coalition of partners

Upskilling is the answer

Working with employers, community groups, as well as with leading universities and other post-secondary institutions, our upskilling programs are making a difference, right now. 

In 2021 alone, we’ve trained 250+ participants in multiple cohorts through our innovative SalesCamp programs. Within 6 months of completing the program, 96% of graduates received at least one job offer and 36% of our graduates received a promotion, or moved up to a better position.

What makes our programs so successful? A key part of the answer lies with our industry partnerships. 

Canada national upskilling
Driven by industry
Everything we do is driven and informed by industry

Driven by industry—and results

Our philosophy is that for upskilling to work, it has to be aligned with the demands of Canadian business. So Palette Skills builds relationships with leaders in the private sector to identify skills that industry needs most. These are innovative companies in growth: 72% of our employer partners are SMEs with 200 employees or less. In 2021 alone, we partnered with 86 employers, with nearly half of those returning to help upskill new cohorts of talented Canadians looking to build rewarding careers. 

Upskilling is not the same thing as training.

Why upskilling works

While traditional training programs teach people a set of new skills, upskilling focuses on what it takes to move someone into a new job, taking a broader approach that positions the learner in the context of a lifelong career path. While learning new technical skills is a core part of the upskilling journey, so too is building the professional skills and establishing industry-relevant networks.

These human skills—like communication, negotiation, or networking—are a sophisticated set of competencies that are often the most important determinant to lifelong career success and industry connections are vital to navigating a successful job search.

Tech Sales Jobs Canada
Have a question?

Frequently Asked Questions

Palette Skills collaborates with some of Canada’s top research universities. Along with insights from our private sector and industry partners, our programs and activities are driven by current research and practice. If you have an idea about building knowledge and research together, we invite you to contact us.

Thinking about upskilling and its role in the economy is moving fast. Make sure you consult this page, or search our News & Blog area. Finally, you can keep up by following us on Twitter and LinkedIn, where we regularly post the latest in research, analysis, and opinion on upskilling in Canada, and around the world. 

For upskilling to work, it has to meet the needs of growing business. We consult with our private sector and research partners to identify key areas of real growth. Our focus on demand-driven upskilling means that we always have an ear to the ground, working to identify in-demand skills and industries. Visit our Partners page to learn more about working with us!

We partner with growing businesses, associations, colleges, universities, economic development group, research groups and other non-profits. We’re dedicated to working with all organizations committed to upskilling, and to building a stronger, more inclusive Canada.

Like all not-for-profits, Palette Skills benefits from the participation of a diverse and committed Board of Directors, including the input of our 11 founding members. These include the Business Council of Canada, Council of Canadian Innovators, Business Council of British Columbia, Brookfield Institute for Entrepreneurship and Innovation, Simon Fraser University, University of Calgary, Dalhousie University, University of Guelph, Université Laval, University of Saskatchewan and the University of Toronto.

To learn more about the people at Palette Skills, check out Our Team here.

At Palette Skills, we’re committed to fostering a more equitable, prosperous and resilient economy. We believe that inclusivity and diversity is a source of innovation and strength. Palette Skills has built a team with a range of backgrounds, perspectives, and skills. We know that these commitments are what has led to the success of our organization—and our people. We believe that the more inclusive we are, the better our work will be.

Our participants come from a range of backgrounds, and bring a wealth of experience to the upskilling journey. Many of our program participants are women, and a significant number are people of colour, while many others are new Canadians. What brings them all together is a desire to learn new skills, and build new careers. 

We currently design, develop and deliver programs in the high demand areas of B2B sales and agriculture technology. We are actively exploring new programming to address key sector specific challenges in the areas of agri-tech, supply chain management, advanced manufacturing and fin-tech. 

We are a national non-profit funded in part by the Government of Canada’s Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario, and by the Province of Ontario. We receive additional funding from organizations like Innovate B.C. and Protein Industries Canada. 

Resources

Upskilling & Launching your career

Job search

11 Resources to Get Your Job-Search Ready

You’ve spent the past few weeks diligently debating whether or not to take the plunge and finally start looking for a new job. If you’re feeling overwhelmed, don’t worry—you’re not alone. Job searching can be a daunting task, especially if you’re starting from scratch. To set you on the path to success, we’ve compiled a list of 11 resources that will help you get job-ready.

Read More »
pivot to tech industry
Alumni stories

Why are people pivoting to the tech industry?

We decided to find out what motivated people to make the change to tech, and what making that change was all about. Who better to ask than participants in our own tech training programs? The people we interviewed have transitioned from careers in fitness, retail, construction and hospitality, to name a few. Their reasons to make the switch to tech varied from cool perks and remote work, to job security and innovation. Although they come from different backgrounds, there were a few things they all had in common.

Read More »
Upskilling

Five skills that make great tech salespeople

Inherently complex and technical products need simple explanations that are seamlessly aligned to the needs of potential customers. It’s just one example of a critical skill set for tech salespeople. So now that you’re here, let’s take a look five of the most important skills and attributes that are especially vital for tech sales people.

Read More »
cypress

Nullam quis risus eget urna mollis ornare vel eu leo. Aenean lacinia bibendum nulla sed 

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue