fbpx

Comment intégrer le marché du travail lorsque l'on manque d'expérience ?

Si vous venez d'obtenir votre diplôme de fin d'études secondaires ou universitaires, il est bon de rester en contact avec vos professeurs et les personnes que vous avez rencontrées dans le cadre de projets ou de stages pour obtenir des références futures. N'hésitez pas à faire savoir que vous cherchez du travail, car toutes sortes de personnes peuvent avoir connaissance d'offres d'emploi.

La pandémie a changé à jamais nos habitudes de travail. De nombreuses personnes sont désormais en mesure de travail à domicileLes entreprises sont de plus en plus nombreuses à travailler dans le secteur de la santé, ce qui convient à beaucoup d'entre nous, tandis que d'autres choisissent de retourner dans les bureaux et sur d'autres sites de travail. Toute cette flexibilité est séduisante, et de nombreuses grandes entreprises embauchent. Mais si vous venez d'entrer sur le marché du travail, ou si vous y retournez après avoir été parent, par exemple, comment pouvez-vous tirer parti de la nouvelle réalité du monde du travail alors que vous manquez d'expérience ? Nous avons quelques idées pour vous aider à trouver l'emploi que vous souhaitez, avec quelques conseils pour vous aider de prendre de l'avance, quel que soit le poste que vous recherchez !

S'entraîner à l'entretien et à la mise en réseau

Que vous entriez sur le marché du travail ou que vous y reveniez après une absence, la constitution de réseaux est un élément essentiel de votre recherche d'emploi. Si vous venez d'obtenir votre diplôme de fin d'études secondaires ou universitaires, c'est une bonne idée de rester en contact avec vos professeurs et les personnes que vous avez rencontrées dans le cadre de projets ou de stages, afin d'avoir des références futures. N'hésitez pas à faire savoir que vous êtes à la recherche d'un emploi, car toutes sortes de personnes peuvent avoir connaissance d'offres d'emploi. Les enseignants peuvent être une bonne source de lettres et de références pour l'avenir. Si vous n'avez pas eu d'entretien d'embauche depuis un certain temps - ou depuis toujours - il n'y a pas de mal à se sentir intimidé ! Entraînez-vous avec vos amis. Ils vous aideront à vous sentir plus à l'aise et pourront vous donner des conseils et des commentaires utiles. 

Si vous revenez sur le marché du travail, faites savoir à tous les membres de votre réseau que vous êtes de retour et que vous recherchez un emploi. Envisagez d'établir un réseau avec vos anciens employeurs et collègues de travail. Faites participer votre famille, vos amis et les organismes pour lesquels vous avez fait du bénévolat. Vous ne savez jamais ce que d'autres personnes peuvent entendre et connaître au sujet d'excellentes possibilités d'emploi.

Connaître ses passions

Avant d'entrer dans la vie active pour la première fois, il est essentiel de comprendre quels sont vos intérêts et vos passions. Cela vous aidera à vous orienter dans la bonne direction et à identifier les emplois auxquels vous souhaitez postuler. Vos amis, votre famille et les conseillers en emploi peuvent vous aider à identifier vos forces et vos faiblesses.

Qu'en est-il de la reprise du travail après avoir pris soin de la famille ou s'être acquitté d'autres obligations ? Commencez par vous concentrer sur vos besoins avant de reprendre le travail. Examinez votre formation et votre expérience et déterminez si vous devez ou non retourner à l'école ou postuler à l'un des programmes suivants Les programmes d'amélioration des compétences de Palette Skills. Réfléchissez à ce que vous aimez faire et aux activités qui vous plaisent. Essayez de vous dire - et de dire aux autres - quel atout vous pourriez représenter pour un poste spécifique, et posez votre candidature pour ce poste.

Faites vos recherches

Si vous débutez, il est toujours important de faire des recherches avant de vous lancer dans le monde du travail. Trouvez des stages de courte durée ou des possibilités d'observation au poste de travail, car ils vous aideront à comprendre en quoi consiste la carrière qui vous intéresse et vous feront certainement remarquer. Un stage réussi, rémunéré ou non, débouche souvent sur un excellent emploi. 

Et si vous revenez dans le monde du travail, la recherche est essentielle. Découvrez quels sont vos points forts et quels types de postes et de secteurs d'activité correspondent à ces points forts. Les réponses ne sont pas toujours évidentes. Saviez-vous, par exemple, que les compétences non techniques, notamment la communication et l'empathie, sont d'une importance capitale dans le secteur de la technologie ? Envisagez de vous perfectionner dans le monde du B2B avec le programme SalesCamp de Palette Skills !

Travail à temps partiel ou contractuel

Que vous repreniez le travail ou que vous commenciez à chercher une carrière, il n'est pas toujours judicieux de se lancer à corps perdu dans le monde du travail. Envisagez un emploi à temps partiel ou un contrat de travail. Si vous avez une famille ou un mode de vie actif, un horaire moins chargé et flexible peut être parfait et peut servir de tremplin pour une carrière à temps plein plus tard. 

Trouver un mentor

Les mentors peuvent vous aider à vous préparer à entrer sur le marché du travail. Il sait à quoi s'attendre dans votre secteur d'activité et peut s'appuyer sur une expérience pertinente. Un mentor est un excellent point de départ pour commencer à travailler en réseau, et plus tôt vous commencerez, mieux ce sera. Si le mentorat peut être une excellente opportunité pour un jeune, il est également vrai que les travailleurs plus âgés peuvent en tirer plus d'avantages qu'ils ne l'imaginent.

Optimisez vos médias sociaux

Employeurs et recruteurs vérifiez toujours votre profils de médias sociaux. Votre photo de profil doit avoir une bonne résolution. Nettoyez et supprimez toute photo embarrassante ou offensante. Faites attention à vos commentaires et à votre langage. Si vous retournez dans le monde du travail, prenez le temps d'apprendre comment les gens utilisent les médias sociaux de manière professionnelle. Il peut être intéressant pour vous de rattraper votre retard en suivant un cours en ligne ou en participant à un programme de formation continue qui vous permettra de vous familiariser avec les applications sociales.

Mettez votre CV à jour

Même si vous n'avez que peu ou pas d'expérience, assurez-vous toujours d'avoir un CV à jour, car vous ne savez jamais quand l'opportunité d'emploi idéale peut se présenter. Consultez ce lien pour des idées sur ce qu'il faut mettre en valeur dans votre CV. N'oubliez pas que vous devez vous assurer que les recruteurs et les employeurs peuvent vous imaginer en train de travailler dans leur entreprise. 

Développez vos compétences

Si vous le pouvez, saisissez l'occasion de suivre une formation ou de vous perfectionner avant d'entrer ou de retourner sur le marché du travail. Prenez le temps de faire du bénévolat ou de trouver un stage pour combler le fossé entre l'école et le lieu de travail. Découvrez les programmes de formation continue de Palette Skillset entrez rapidement en contact avec des employeurs qui cherchent à embaucher !

Bonne communication

Une bonne communication et l'amélioration de vos compétences en la matière vous aideront sur le lieu de travail. Pour préparer votre carrière, apprenez à poser de bonnes questions et à écouter attentivement les réponses des autres. Recherchez des occasions de vous exprimer parmi vos pairs. Affinez vos compétences en matière de communication et devenez un meilleur communicateurque vous veniez d'obtenir votre diplôme ou que vous envisagiez de retourner sur le marché du travail. 

Élargissez vos horizons

Si vous venez d'obtenir votre diplôme ou si vous revenez sur le marché du travail, il existe de nombreuses possibilités de travailler et d'étudier à l'étranger. Si vous venez de terminer vos études, travailler comme professeur d'anglais langue étrangère peut élargir vos horizons et montrer à vos employeurs potentiels votre intérêt pour d'autres cultures et d'autres personnes. Si vous êtes plus âgé, vous devriez envisager de faire du bénévolat pour des organisations internationales d'aide et de développement. Commencez par consulter ce lien utile.  

Réintégrer le marché du travail 

Parfois, la vie a une façon bien à elle de se dérouler. Il se peut que vous trouviez que faire une pause dans votre vie professionnelle soit la meilleure solution. Peut-être fondez-vous une famille et souhaitez-vous rester au foyer. Vous êtes peut-être en train de déménager ou de changer de carrière. Quelle que soit votre situation, vous devez continuer à réfléchir à votre futur retour sur le marché du travail.

Chercher un coach professionnel

Un coach professionnel peut être une autre option pour vous aider à réintégrer le marché du travail. Il peut vous aider à vous concentrer sur un objectif précis, vous apprendre à nouer des contacts et vous montrer comment utiliser les sites Internet consacrés à l'emploi. Souvent, les accompagnateurs de carrière peuvent proposer des ateliers sur des sujets liés à l'emploi.

Rejoindre le monde du travail

Trouver un emploi n'est pas forcément difficile. De nos jours, de nombreuses personnes ne se cantonnent pas à un seul domaine d'activité et il n'est pas rare de changer de secteur d'activité. Explorez vos options et trouvez les possibilités qui vous aideront à réussir. Que vous soyez jeune ou plus âgé, il n'y a jamais eu de meilleur moment pour vous lancer dans le monde et trouver le travail de vos rêves !

Rédigé par Katie Meyers, avec la contribution de Palette Skills. Katie est spécialiste en référencement chez SEO Design Chicago. Originaire de l'État de Washington, elle est titulaire d'un diplôme d'études supérieures et d'un certificat en marketing des médias sociaux. 

S'abonner à la lettre d'information

Restez au courant de tout ce qui concerne Palette Skills.

Suivez-nous
Messages récents
Clean Technology - The clean technology sector in Canada not only drives economic growth but also offers a pathway for upskilled individuals to contribute to a sustainable future, providing employment opportunities in innovative fields that address environmental challenges and positively impact the quality of life for Canadians.
clean technology

Skills and talent needed in clean technology

Clean technology will enhance Canada’s global competitiveness and economic growth, in addition to helping us reach important decarbonization efforts, reconciliation strategies, and create better employment opportunities in a net-zero economy.

Lire plus
Bioproduction

Building skills, finding talent in biomanufacturing

Everyone needs to find their place in the future economy, which will be led by knowledge-intensive sectors like biotech and biomanufacturing. For job-seekers, our programs will help you upskill into a great career.

Lire plus
advanced manufacturing

Find careers, talent in advanced manufacturing

The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association reports that over 80% of companies face labor and skills shortages. Companies need new talent for advanced technology adoption, while workers require quick, industry-relevant upskilling programs.

Lire plus

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Être en recherche active d'emploi et prêt à saisir les opportunités d'emploi dans le domaine de la vente de technologies.
  • Être en mesure de travailler légalement au Canada 
  • Ne pas être un étudiant à temps plein.
  • Être une personne très motivée, à la recherche active de nouvelles opportunités.
  • Avoir au moins 3 ans d'expérience professionnelle formelle au Canada ou à l'étranger.
  • Avoir un niveau d'anglais de 8 dans le cadre des NCLC ou de 6,5 dans le cadre de l'IELTS.
  • Être disponible pour les sessions Zoom, dont beaucoup seront à temps plein.
  • Être capable de participer à des journées de réseautage dans le cadre de la programmation régulière et s'engager à le faire.
  • Être à l'aise avec la technologie et l'apprentissage en ligne.
  • Vivre ou avoir l'intention de vivre dans la province où le programme est offert.
  • Disposer d'une connexion Internet fiable, d'un appareil et d'un environnement calme pour l'apprentissage virtuel.
  • S'engager et être capable de rejoindre le Main d'œuvre canadienne à temps plein immédiatement après le programme.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Télécharger la fiche d'information

Télécharger la fiche d'information

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des cours à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

fbpx

How to Join the Workforce When You’re Short on Experience

If you’ve just graduated from high school or university, it’s a good idea to stay in touch with your teachers and people you’ve met on projects or internships for future references. Get comfortable with letting people know you’re looking for work, because all kinds of people may know of open job opportunities.
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest

The pandemic has changed our work habits forever. Many people are now able to work from home, which suits a lot of us well, while others are choosing to return to offices and other job sites. All of this flexibility is enticing, and many great companies are hiring. But if you’re just entering the workforce, or are returning to work after being a parent, for example, how can you take advantage of the new workplace reality when you’re short on experience? We have a few ideas lined up to help you find the job you want, with some tips to help you get ahead, no matter what position you’re looking for!

Practice Interviewing and Networking

Whether you’re just entering the workforce now, or returning after an absence, networking is an essential part of your job search. If you’ve just graduated from high school or university, it’s a good idea to stay in touch with your teachers and people you’ve met on projects or internships for future references. Get comfortable with letting people know you’re looking for work, because all kinds of people may know of open job opportunities. Teachers can be a good resource for future letters and references. If you haven’t had a job interview for a while—or for ever—it’s ok to feel intimidated! Practice interviewing with your friends. They will help you get more comfortable, and can give you pointers and helpful feedback. 

If you’re just coming back into the workforce, let everyone in your network know you’re back again and looking for a job. Consider networking with previous employers and co-workers. Get your family, friends, and places you’ve volunteered for involved. You never know what other people may hear and know about great job opportunities.

Know Your Passions

Before you enter the workforce for the first time, it’s crucial to understand what your interests and passions are. This will help point you in the right direction, and identify what jobs you want to apply for. Friends, family, and job counsellors can help you identify your strengths and weaknesses.

What about returning to work after caring for family, or taking care of other obligations? Begin by focusing on your needs before returning to work. Look over your education and experience and determine whether or not you need to go back to school, or apply for one of Palette Skills’ upskilling programs. Think about what you like to do, and what activities you enjoy. Try to articulate to yourself—and others—what an asset you could be for a specific role, and apply for that role.

Do Your Research

If you’re just starting out, it’s still important to do your research before jumping into the workforce. Find short-term internships or job shadow opportunities, because these will help you understand what the career you’re interested in is all about, and will definitely get you noticed. A successful unpaid or paid internship often leads to a great job. 

And if you’re coming back to the work world, research is key. Find out what your strengths are, and learn what kinds of positions and industries align with them. The answers may not always be obvious. For example, did you know that good soft skills—including things like communication and empathy—are critically important for tech? Consider upskilling into the world of B2B with Palette Skills’ SalesCamp program!

Part-Time or Contract Work

Whether you are returning to work, or just beginning the search for a career, jumping back into work full speed ahead may not always be the best option. Consider a part-time job or contract work. If you have a family or busy lifestyle, less hours and a flexible schedule may be perfect—and can serve as a future jumping-off point to a full time career later on. 

Find a Mentor

Mentors can help prepare you for entering the workforce. They know what to expect within your industry, and can draw on relevant experience. A mentor is a great start to begin networking, and the sooner you start the better. While a mentorship can be a great opportunity for a young person, it’s also true that older workers can get more out of mentoring than they expect.

Optimize Your Social Media

Employers and recruiters always check out your social media profiles. Your profile picture should have good resolution. Clean up and delete any embarrassing and offensive photos. Be careful of your comments and language. If you are returning to the work world, take some time to learn about how people use social media professionally. It might be worth your while to catch up by taking an online course, or attending a continuing education program that gets you up to speed with social applications.

Update Your Resume

Even if you have little or no experience, always make sure you have a current resume ready to go, because you never know when the perfect job opportunity may come your way. Check out this link for ideas on what to emphasize in your resume. Remember, you want to make sure that recruiters and employers can envision you working at their company. 

Build Your Skills

If you can, take the opportunity to find training or upskilling before getting into—or returning to—the workforce. Take the time to volunteer, or find an internship to bridge the gap between school and the workplace. Check out Palette Skills’ amazing upskilling programs, and connect quickly to employers looking to hire!

Good Communication

Good communication and improving your communication skills will help you in the workplace. To prepare for your career, learn to ask great questions, and listen attentively to the answers people give you. Look for speaking opportunities among your peers. Hone your communication skills and become a better communicator, no matter if you’ve just graduated, or are planning to get back into the job market. 

Expand Your Horizons

If you’ve just graduated, or if you’re coming back to work, there are so many opportunities to work and study abroad. If you’ve just completed your studies, working as a teacher of English as a Foreign Language can expand your horizons, and show prospective employers your interest in other cultures and people. If you’re older, you should consider volunteering for international aid and development organizations. Get started by checking out this helpful link.  

Re-entering the Workforce 

Sometimes, life has a way of just happening. You may find that taking a break from the workforce may be your best option. Perhaps you’re starting a family and want to be a stay-at-home parent. Maybe you’re in the process of relocating or changing careers. No matter what your situation is, you need to keep thinking about your transition back to the workplace in the future.

Seek a Career Coach

A career coach may be another option to help you re-enter the workforce. They can assist you with developing a focus, teach you how to network, and show you how to utilize job websites. Often, career coaches can offer workshops on employment related topics.

Join the Workforce

Finding a job doesn’t have to be difficult. Many people these days don’t just stick with one area of focus, and changing industries is not unusual. Explore your options and find the opportunities to help you be successful. Whether you’re younger or older, there has never been a better time to put yourself out in the world, and find your dream job!

Written by Katie Meyers, with contributions from Palette Skills. Katie is an SEO Specialist at SEO Design Chicago. Katie is from Washington State and has an AA and a Social Media Marketing Certificate. 

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Subscribe Newsletter

Keep up to date & stay in touch with all things Palette Skills

Recent posts
Digital agriculture
Agtech

The next wave of agriculture in Saskatchewan is digital and Indigenous-led

Indigenous communities stand to benefit from the coming digital agricultural revolution because these communities have everything in place to lead this same revolution. With more and more young and skilled citizens ready to embrace technology and entrepreneurship, the task will be to make sure that leaders in agriculture understand the need to work closely with Indigenous communities and concerns.

Read More »
Chair of Board
News

Palette Skills welcomes Janet Yale as new Chair of Board of Directors

On September 7, 2022 Palette Skills welcomed Janet Yale as its new Chair of the Board of Directors. Janet begins her term as Chair at a pivotal moment, as Canada’s economy makes progress following the COVID-19 pandemic, and as employers face unprecedented job vacancies amid one of the tightest labour markets the country has ever witnessed.

Read More »

Nullam quis risus eget urna mollis ornare vel eu leo. Aenean lacinia bibendum nulla sed 

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue