fbpx

Growing Opportunities in Alberta & Saskatchewan’s Agtech Revolution

Sophisticated digital and robotic technologies are bringing change to farms, and careers in agriculture. Learn more about the paths opening up in agriculture across Alberta and Saskatchewan.

Technologie et talent sur le terrain

Across Alberta and Saskatchewan, technological change is transforming the way food, livestock, and other agricultural commodities are being grown and processed. Digital agriculture, agtech, and precision agronomy are taking hold in the province’s agribusiness sector, and it’s opening up all kinds of new career opportunities, some of which might surprise you. 

La nouvelle ère de l'efficacité induite par la technologie bouscule les idées traditionnelles sur le métier d'agriculteur et offre des perspectives de carrière passionnantes aux professionnels qui possèdent le savoir-faire, les compétences et la volonté de contribuer. En fait, on peut dire sans risque de se tromper que l'agriculture est une activité à part entière. l'agriculture en général souffre d'une grave pénurie de talentsLes taux d'inoccupation dans ce secteur devraient atteindre 123 000 d'ici à 2030.

D'autres facteurs sont également à l'origine de l'évolution technologique dans les exploitations agricoles. La pandémie a bouleversé les chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales, soulignant l'importance de cultiver davantage d'aliments au niveau local. Si l'on ajoute à cela la perturbation des La guerre en Ukraine a entraîné une baisse de l'approvisionnement alimentaire mondial. Enfin, les préoccupations liées au changement climatique poussent les agriculteurs à adopter des technologies plus propres et plus durables afin de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre. l'empreinte carbone massive de l'alimentation.

Pour que les denrées alimentaires restent accessibles et abordables pour les populations mondiales, tous les regards se tournent vers l'agriculture intelligente. Quelles sont donc les opportunités les plus intéressantes pour les professionnels prêts à entrer dans ce domaine ? Chez Palette SkillsNous avons quelques idées. Après tout, nous proposons un programme de perfectionnement passionnant que nous appelons le Programme de spécialisation en automatisation et en agriculture numérique qui prépare les gens à des carrières dans l'agriculture numérique et l'agtech.

Examinons maintenant quelques-unes de ces professions. 

Spécialiste de l'agriculture de précision

A Spécialiste de l'agriculture de précision soutient et guide les agriculteurs qui se tournent vers  Les technologies de précision comprennent le GPS et les systèmes d'information géographique (SIG) pour optimiser la croissance agricole tout en préservant les ressources. Les technologies de précision comprennent le GPS et les systèmes d'information géographique (SIG) afin d'optimiser la croissance agricole tout en préservant les ressources. Ce type de spécialiste aide à analyser les données et à élaborer des plans de gestion des cultures qui intègrent des technologies sophistiquées de détection et d'alimentation.

Fourchette des salaires :

Les salaire moyen se situe entre $74,602 et $131,714.

Spécialiste des systèmes de contrôle

Un spécialiste des systèmes de contrôle manipule plusieurs instruments industriels dans l'écosystème agritech. Il utilise des outils tels que les systèmes de contrôle distribués (DCS) pour collecter des informations qui sont ensuite utilisées pour optimiser le système de contrôle des processus d'une exploitation agricole. Ce rôle implique une collaboration avec les membres de l'équipe afin d'assurer la couverture du client. Dans ce parcours professionnel, les opportunités augmenteront à mesure que la technologie et la robotique deviendront la norme.

Fourchette des salaires :

Les moyenne est de $85 551 par an. La fourchette varie en fonction de l'expérience, de $57 000 à $128 000. 

Spécialiste des capteurs / Analyste en télédétection

À l'avant-garde de l'agriculture et de l'élevage de précision, le spécialiste des capteurs/analyste des capteurs est chargé d'utiliser des outils sophistiqués tels que des capteurs optiques pour recueillir des données, les traiter et mettre en œuvre les informations. Il utilise des GPS, des drones et d'autres outils pour compiler des ensembles de données de recherche. Ce poste exige de grandes compétences en matière de gestion de projet, car il s'agit souvent d'un travail de collaboration. À mesure que les organisations s'orientent vers la réduction des coûts des intrants et l'amélioration des rendements, les possibilités de carrière dans ce domaine ne feront qu'augmenter.

Fourchette des salaires :

Les fourchette moyenne se situe entre $51.875 et $105.000, le salaire annuel moyen étant de $80.000.

Technologue en automatisation

Un technologue en automatisation agricole identifie, gère et met en œuvre de nouvelles solutions technologiques dans l'ensemble de la chaîne de valeur agroalimentaire. Les technologues aident à rationaliser les processus et accordent une attention particulière aux technologies émergentes telles que les SIG, l'internet des objets (IoT), les drones, l'IA, la robotique, les capteurs et les données massives (big data). Si vous avez le pouce technologique, c'est un rôle idéal pour vous.  Il est également utile de posséder d'excellentes compétences en matière de gestion d'entreprise et de projet. Il s'agit d'une carrière essentielle dans le domaine de l'agriculture intelligente, et les données du marché indiquent que les perspectives dans ce domaine sont en hausse.

Fourchette des salaires :

Le salaire moyen est de $70,000 par an.

Représentant pour le développement des affaires

Toute cette technologie sophistiquée ne se vend pas toute seule. C'est pourquoi un représentant en développement commercial (BDR) s'occupe des ventes directes aux fermes et aux exploitations agricoles. Ce professionnel est chargé d'ouvrir de nouveaux comptes et de s'occuper des comptes existants. Le démarchage à froid et la visite de nouveaux clients dans des segments de marché ciblés sont la norme. Ce poste exige des connaissances en marketing interentreprises et des compétences en gestion de projet. Les BDR peuvent travailler de manière indépendante, mais aussi avec une équipe plus large afin de garantir la satisfaction des clients.

Fourchette des salaires :

Le salaire moyen est de $70,300 par an.

Agronome de précision

Il s'agit de professionnels qui fournissent des conseils et des services agronomiques basés sur l'analyse des données et la technologie de précision. Ils utilisent souvent des connaissances spécialisées en agronomie pour améliorer l'agriculture et gérer la production végétale. Les agronomes de précision consultent les producteurs, étudient les problèmes et proposent des solutions uniques. On peut également compter sur eux pour offrir un soutien en cours de saison pour l'échantillonnage des sols et la collecte de données. Il s'agit d'un rôle qui implique d'entretenir d'excellentes relations avec les clients et d'offrir un soutien.

Fourchette des salaires :

Le salaire annuel moyen est de $57,685.

Spécialiste de l'adoption numérique (DAS)

Un DAS engage les entreprises et les opérateurs, nouveaux ou établis, avec des outils et des capacités numériques liés à l'agriculture de précision. En outre, ils fournissent un retour d'information aux équipes de développement de produits numériques internes et externes sur les besoins et les priorités réels des entreprises. Ils travaillent souvent avec des équipes pour développer et mettre en œuvre du matériel de formation et de communication, en se concentrant sur les aspects des opérations commerciales et des outils liés à l'agriculture de précision. Ils sont experts en outils numériques tels que Digital Hub, Echelon, Ag Logic, NutriScription, Agrible, et sont appelés à former et à soutenir le personnel sur le terrain. À mesure que l'agriculture intelligente évolue, nous voyons  Il y a beaucoup de place pour évoluer dans cette carrière.

Fourchette des salaires :

Le salaire annuel moyen est de $69 000.

Agriculture Analyste de données

L'analyste de données agricoles recueille et trie des données en temps réel, suit les tendances des marchés et, en fin de compte, fournit des données concrètes pour aider les clients à optimiser le processus de production. Il est chargé d'améliorer les processus inefficaces et de créer des rapports pertinents, ce qui lui confère les capacités de résolution de problèmes de l'analyste. Ils extraient, manipulent et analysent de vastes ensembles de données et en tirent des conclusions. La collaboration avec des spécialistes et des stratèges est un élément clé de ce rôle intégré et de soutien. Cette profession est appelée à se développer, car la demande d'analyses de haut niveau permet souvent aux moyennes et grandes entreprises de réaliser des économies.

Fourchette des salaires :

Le salaire moyen est de $61,709 par an.

Spécialiste de la mise en œuvre de l'ERP dans l'agriculture

Ce professionnel est responsable pour l'intégration d'un système de planification des ressources de l'entreprise au sein d'une exploitation agricole. Ils installent et mettent en œuvre un logiciel ERP qui enregistre et suit les cycles de culture, les maladies et l'impact des engrais. Ces informations sont utilisées pour accroître l'efficacité et minimiser les coûts. Dans certains cas, le spécialiste peut être amené à personnaliser le logiciel pour répondre aux besoins spécifiques de l'exploitation agricole.

Fourchette des salaires :

Les salaires sont $82,875 par an en moyenne.

Se lancer dans l'agtech n'a jamais été aussi facile

À première vue, on pourrait penser que la plupart de ces professions - si ce n'est toutes - requièrent des diplômes avancés et très spécialisés. Mais de plus en plus, les métiers de l'agrotechnologie sont ouverts aux personnes qui possèdent un large éventail de compétences et de talents. Nos Programme de spécialisation en automatisation et en agriculture numérique est conçu pour les personnes qui sont à l'aise avec la technologie, qui ont des connaissances dans le domaine de l'agriculture et qui sont passionnées par le perfectionnement des compétences. Il s'agit d'un programme intensif conçu pour les personnes qui possèdent les capacités et les aptitudes de base adéquates, et il est conçu pour vous permettre de vous familiariser avec les technologies d'automatisation et de numérisation dans le domaine de la production et de la transformation agricoles.

Le programme innovant de formation continue a été conçu en consultation avec des leaders de l'agro-industrie, y compris des experts de l'Agence européenne pour la sécurité alimentaire. Université de la Saskatchewan qui comprennent la nécessité de combler la pénurie de talents dans le domaine de l'agrotechnologie. En travaillant en étroite collaboration avec l'industrie, Palette Skills bouleverse les conditions requises pour entamer une carrière dans ce domaine. Vous êtes intéressé ? En savoir plus sur le programme Programme de spécialisation en agriculture numérique de Palette Skills !

S'abonner à la lettre d'information

Restez au courant de tout ce qui concerne Palette Skills.

Suivez-nous
Messages récents
Clean Technology - The clean technology sector in Canada not only drives economic growth but also offers a pathway for upskilled individuals to contribute to a sustainable future, providing employment opportunities in innovative fields that address environmental challenges and positively impact the quality of life for Canadians.
clean technology

Skills and talent needed in clean technology

Clean technology will enhance Canada’s global competitiveness and economic growth, in addition to helping us reach important decarbonization efforts, reconciliation strategies, and create better employment opportunities in a net-zero economy.

Lire plus
Bioproduction

Building skills, finding talent in biomanufacturing

Everyone needs to find their place in the future economy, which will be led by knowledge-intensive sectors like biotech and biomanufacturing. For job-seekers, our programs will help you upskill into a great career.

Lire plus
advanced manufacturing

Find careers, talent in advanced manufacturing

The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association reports that over 80% of companies face labor and skills shortages. Companies need new talent for advanced technology adoption, while workers require quick, industry-relevant upskilling programs.

Lire plus

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Être en recherche active d'emploi et prêt à saisir les opportunités d'emploi dans le domaine de la vente de technologies.
  • Être en mesure de travailler légalement au Canada 
  • Ne pas être un étudiant à temps plein.
  • Être une personne très motivée, à la recherche active de nouvelles opportunités.
  • Avoir au moins 3 ans d'expérience professionnelle formelle au Canada ou à l'étranger.
  • Avoir un niveau d'anglais de 8 dans le cadre des NCLC ou de 6,5 dans le cadre de l'IELTS.
  • Être disponible pour les sessions Zoom, dont beaucoup seront à temps plein.
  • Être capable de participer à des journées de réseautage dans le cadre de la programmation régulière et s'engager à le faire.
  • Être à l'aise avec la technologie et l'apprentissage en ligne.
  • Vivre ou avoir l'intention de vivre dans la province où le programme est offert.
  • Disposer d'une connexion Internet fiable, d'un appareil et d'un environnement calme pour l'apprentissage virtuel.
  • S'engager et être capable de rejoindre le Main d'œuvre canadienne à temps plein immédiatement après le programme.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Télécharger la fiche d'information

Télécharger la fiche d'information

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des cours à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

fbpx

Growing Opportunities in Saskatchewan’s Agtech Revolution

Sophisticated digital and robotic technologies are bringing change to farms, and careers in agriculture. Learn more about the paths opening up in agriculture across Saskatchewan.

Tech and talent in the field

Across Saskatchewan, technological change is transforming the way food, livestock, and other agricultural commodities are being grown and processed. Digital agriculture, agtech, and precision agronomy are taking hold in the province’s agribusiness sector, and it’s opening up all kinds of new career opportunities, some of which might surprise you. 

The new era of tech-led efficiency is pushing aside traditional ideas of what it means to farm, and offering exciting career paths for professionals with the right know-how, skillsets, and desire to contribute. In fact, it’s safe to say that there’s an acute talent shortage in agriculture generally, with vacancy rates in the sector expected to rise to 123,000 by 2030.

Technological change on the farm is being driven by other factors, too. The pandemic upset global supply chains, underlining the importance of growing more food locally. Add to that the disruption of global food supplies caused by the war in Ukraine. Finally, concerns over climate change are pushing farmers to adopt cleaner and more sustainable technologies to help reduce food’s massive carbon footprint.

Keeping food accessible and affordable to global populations means all eyes are on smart farming. So what are some of the most exciting opportunities for professionals ready to enter the field? Here at Palette Skills, we have some ideas. After all, we offer an exciting upskilling program we’re calling the Automation and Digital Agriculture Specialist Program that gets people ready for careers in digital agriculture and agtech.

Let’s look at just a few of these occupations right now. 

Precision Agriculture Specialist

A Precision Agricultural Specialist supports and guides farmers who are turning to  tech to boost crop yields. Precision technologies include GPS and geographic information systems (GIS) to optimize agricultural growth while conserving resources. This kind of specialist will help analyze data, and develop crop management plans that incorporate sophisticated sensing and food tech.

Salary range:

The average salary range is between $74,602 and $131,714.

Control Systems Specialist

A control systems specialist handles multiple industrial instruments within the agritech ecosystem. They use tools such as distributed control systems (DCS) to collect information which is then used to optimize a farm’s process control system. This role involves collaboration with team members to ensure customer coverage. In this career path, opportunities will increase as technology and robotics become the norm.

Salary range:

The average salary is $85,551 per year. The range varies with experience from $57,000 to $128,000. 

Sensor Specialist / Remote Sensing Analyst

At the forefront of precision agriculture and precision farming, a sensor specialist/sensing analyst is responsible for using sophisticated tools such as optical sensors to gather data, process it, and implement the information. They use GPS, drones, and other tools to compile research datasets. This position requires great project management skills, because it’s often a collaborative effort. As organizations shift to reducing input costs and improving yields, opportunities in this career path will only increase.

Salary range:

The average range is between $51,875 to $105,000, with the average yearly salary being $80,000.

Automation Technologist

An agricultural automation technologist identifies, manages, and implements new tech solutions across the agri-food value chain. Technologists help streamline processes, and pay close attention to emerging technologies such as GIS, the internet of things (IoT), drones, AI, robotics, sensors, and big data. If you have a tech thumb, it’s a great role for you.  It also helps to have great business and project management skills. An essential career path in smart farming, market data suggests that prospects for this field are on the up.

Salary range:

The average salary is $70,000 per year.

Business Development Representative

All of this sophisticated tech doesn’t sell itself. So a business development representative (BDR) handles direct sales to farms and agricultural operations. This professional is responsible for opening new accounts and tending to existing ones. Cold calling and visiting new customers in targeted market segments is the norm. It’s a position that requires knowledge of business-to-business marketing, and project management skills. BDRs can work independently, but also with a broader team to ensure client satisfaction.

Salary range:

The average salary is $70,300 per year.

Precision Agronomist

These are professionals providing agronomic advising and services based on data analytics and precision tech. They often use specialized knowledge of agronomy to enhance farming, and manage crop production. Precision agronomists consult with producers, investigate challenges, and provide unique solutions. They can also be counted on to offer in-season support for soil sampling and data collection. It’s a role that involves fostering great customer relationships and offering support.

Salary range:

The average yearly salary is $57,685.

Digital Adoption Specialist (DAS)

A DAS engages both new and established businesses and operators with precision ag-related digital tools and capabilities. Additionally, they provide feedback to internal and external digital product development teams about real business needs and priorities. They often work with teams to develop and implement training and communications material, honing in on aspects of business ops and precision ag-related tools. They are experts in digital tools such as Digital Hub, Echelon, Ag Logic, NutriScription, Agrible, and are called on to train and support field staff. As smart farming evolves, we see  plenty of room to grow in this career.

Salary range:

The average yearly salary is $69,000.

Agricultural Data Analyst

An agricultural data analyst collects and sorts real-time data, tracks trends in markets, and ultimately offers hard data to help clients optimize the production process. They are tasked with improving inefficient processes and creating insightful reporting, and thus bring the problem-solving abilities of the analyst. They will extract, manipulate, and analyze large data sets, and draw conclusions. Collaboration with specialists and strategists is a key component of this integrated and supportive role. There is room for growth in this occupation, as demand for high-level analysis is often cost-saving for medium to large scale enterprises.

Salary range:

The average salary is $61,709 per year.

Agriculture ERP Implementation Specialist

This professional is responsible for integrating an Enterprise Resource Planning system within an agricultural operation. They install and implement ERP software that records and tracks crop cycles, diseases, and the impact of fertilizers. This information is used to increase efficiency and minimize costs. In some cases, the specialist may be involved in customizing software to meet the unique needs of the agricultural setup.

Salary range:

Salaries are $82,875 per year on average.

Getting started in agtech has never been easier

At first glance, you’d think that most—if not all—of these occupations require advanced and very specialized degrees. But more and more, occupations in agtech are open to people who bring a wide range of skills and talents. Our Automation and Digital Agriculture Specialist Program is designed for people who are comfortable with technology, know something about agriculture, and are passionate about upskilling. It’s an intense program built for people with the right foundational abilities and aptitudes, and it’s designed to get you up to speed with automation and digitization technologies in agricultural production and processing.

The innovative upskilling program has been designed in consultation with leading agribusiness leaders, including experts at the University of Saskatchewan who understand the need to fill agtech’s talent shortage. By working closely with industry, Palette Skills is disrupting the requirements for starting a career in the field. Interested? Find out more about the Digital Agriculture Specialist Program from Palette Skills!

Subscribe Newsletter

Keep up to date & stay in touch with all things Palette Skills

Follow us
Recent posts
Talent Recruitment Hired Hippo
Hiring tools

The CEO of HiredHippo talks recruitment and retention

HiredHippo is a wildly successful recruitment platform that uses sophisticated tech to connect the right people to the right jobs. Talent that joins SalesCamp will have exclusive access to HiredHippo services and get matched with the top high growth companies.

Read More »

Download the Fact Sheet

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue