L'agriculture numérique est aussi une affaire de personnes : entretien avec Berokh Haghdan

La technologie sophistiquée enseignée dans le cadre du programme de spécialisation en agriculture numérique de Palette Skills est passionnante. Mais il est bon de rappeler que, quel que soit le type de technologie utilisé, l'agriculture est une affaire de nourriture et de personnes. Nous avons donc rencontré l'un des anciens étudiants du programme pour connaître le côté très humain de l'histoire.

Ce n'est un secret pour personne qu'à Palette SkillsNous sommes ravis de notre nouvelle Programme de spécialisation en agriculture numérique. Développée en collaboration avec la Université de la Saskatchewan, Protein Industries Canadaet le Initiative d'intelligence artificielle et d'apprentissage en entreprise (EMILI)Le programme intensif de perfectionnement prépare les participants au monde de l'agriculture numérique et de l'agriculture de précision.

Bien sûr, la technologie sophistiquée enseignée dans le programme est passionnante. Mais en même temps, il est bon de se rappeler que, quel que soit le type de technologie utilisé, l'agriculture est une affaire de nourriture et d'individus. C'est pourquoi nous avons décidé de nous entretenir avec l'une des récentes diplômées du programme, Berokh Haghdan, afin d'en savoir un peu plus sur elle et sur ce qui l'a amenée à suivre le programme de spécialisation en agriculture numérique cet été.

Berokh Haghdan est une personne énergique et extravertie qui a émigré au Canada il y a un peu moins de deux ans, en provenance de Shiraz, dans le centre-sud de l'Iran. Elle est titulaire d'une licence en sciences du sol et d'une maîtrise en irrigation et drainage. Nous voulions savoir ce qui l'intéressait dans notre programme d'agriculture numérique, mais aussi comment ce programme s'inscrivait dans ses préoccupations plus générales pour les femmes et pour la communauté.

Qu'est-ce qui vous a amené à vous intéresser à l'agtech et à poser votre candidature au programme de spécialisation en agriculture numérique ?

En plus de mes études, j'ai 18 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie agricole, mais je l'ai acquise en Iran. Je suis ensuite venue au Canada, et en Saskatchewan, grâce au Programme des candidats des provinces (PCP), et j'ai décidé que je voulais revenir dans l'agriculture en raison de mes connaissances et de mon expérience. Lorsque j'ai découvert le programme Digital Agriculture Specialist par l'intermédiaire de Palette Skills, j'étais très enthousiaste, car c'était une excellente façon d'en apprendre davantage sur l'industrie agricole du Canada et de la Saskatchewan.

Comment avez-vous découvert le programme de spécialisation en agriculture numérique ?

Je suis une personne créative. Je suis active sur Instragram et sur les médias sociaux. J'ai donc vu une publicité pour le programme, je suis allée sur le site web, j'ai lu toutes les informations et cela m'a semblé très intéressant. J'ai lu toutes les informations et cela m'a semblé passionnant. Cela m'a semblé être un excellent moyen d'en apprendre plus sur l'industrie et de trouver ce qui correspond à ma carrière, alors j'ai décidé d'y participer.

Quelles sont les parties du programme qui vous ont le plus enthousiasmé ?

J'avais beaucoup de connaissances sur l'agriculture. Dans mon pays, l'agriculture est la deuxième industrie la plus importante. J'en savais beaucoup, mais lorsque j'ai participé au programme, j'ai découvert beaucoup de choses que j'ignorais. Ici, en Saskatchewan, le temps est différent, la situation est différente. Par exemple, là où je viens, la plupart des champs sont irrigués, parce que c'est une région sèche du monde. J'ai donc trouvé très intéressant de constater que toutes les exploitations agricoles de la Saskatchewan sont des terres arides.

Toutes les informations que j'ai obtenues grâce à ce cours étaient vraiment formidables. J'ai aimé toutes les parties et j'ai appris beaucoup de choses dans chaque section.

Pourquoi pensez-vous qu'un tel programme est important pour les femmes ? Pourquoi est-il important que les femmes participent à ce type de travail ?

Vous savez, je suis féministe et je crois que les femmes peuvent avoir une influence dans tous les secteurs de la communauté. La sphère des femmes est très large. Nous pouvons avoir une vision technique et, en même temps, les femmes peuvent avoir d'excellentes compétences non techniques. Lorsqu'une femme possède de grandes compétences techniques, des compétences non techniques et des compétences en matière de leadership, elle peut faire une grande différence dans le monde.

L'agriculture traditionnelle est généralement réservée aux hommes. Nous devons donc montrer aux femmes qu'elles ont suffisamment de pouvoir et de connaissances pour faire la différence dans ce secteur. Je pense qu'avec toutes leurs connaissances et leurs compétences, les femmes peuvent faire la différence.

Berokh, quels sont vos projets et vos aspirations pour vous-même, maintenant que vous avez terminé ce programme ?

Comme je l'ai découvert grâce à ce cours, pour obtenir une bonne carrière dans l'agriculture au Canada et en Saskatchewan, vous devez avoir de bonnes compétences en matière de réseautage. Et le réseautage ne signifie pas simplement se présenter et demander un emploi à différentes personnes. Vous devez avoir des relations solides avec des personnes ou des institutions, comme Palette Skills, qui peuvent vous présenter à des leaders de l'industrie.

J'ai trouvé que les événements de réseautage organisés dans le cadre du cours étaient très utiles et qu'ils m'aidaient à créer un curriculum vitae très professionnel qui communiquait vraiment mes compétences et mon expérience. Grâce à ces événements de réseautage et à ce programme, j'ai obtenu un entretien avec une très bonne entreprise qui participe à l'un des plus grands projets d'infrastructure pour l'agriculture dans la province. J'ai passé un entretien avec eux et j'attends maintenant la réponse.

Vous savez, sans le soutien de l'équipe de Palette Skills, je crois que je n'aurais jamais pu réaliser cette interview.

Que diriez-vous à quelqu'un qui envisage de suivre ce programme de Palette Skills ?

Vous savez, j'ai dit à tous mes amis qu'ils devraient participer à ce programme, parce qu'il ne s'agit pas seulement d'apprendre des choses techniques sur l'agriculture. Il y a beaucoup d'autres choses, comme le développement de compétences professionnelles et l'apprentissage de la participation à des événements de réseautage. Et ces choses vous aident vraiment à vous trouver. La chose la plus importante que j'ai retirée de ce programme est la confiance en soi. Il m'a montré que je pouvais faire la différence dans le secteur agricole et dans ma communauté.

Êtes-vous prêt à poser votre candidature ?

Si vous êtes prêt à vous lancer dans une nouvelle carrière dans l'agriculture numérique, s'inscrire au programme dès aujourd'hui!

S'abonner à la lettre d'information

Restez au courant de tout ce qui concerne Palette Skills.

Suivez-nous
Messages récents
Clean Technology - The clean technology sector in Canada not only drives economic growth but also offers a pathway for upskilled individuals to contribute to a sustainable future, providing employment opportunities in innovative fields that address environmental challenges and positively impact the quality of life for Canadians.
clean technology

Skills and talent needed in clean technology

Clean technology will enhance Canada’s global competitiveness and economic growth, in addition to helping us reach important decarbonization efforts, reconciliation strategies, and create better employment opportunities in a net-zero economy.

Lire plus
Bioproduction

Building skills, finding talent in biomanufacturing

Everyone needs to find their place in the future economy, which will be led by knowledge-intensive sectors like biotech and biomanufacturing. For job-seekers, our programs will help you upskill into a great career.

Lire plus
advanced manufacturing

Find careers, talent in advanced manufacturing

The Canadian Manufacturers and Exporters Association reports that over 80% of companies face labor and skills shortages. Companies need new talent for advanced technology adoption, while workers require quick, industry-relevant upskilling programs.

Lire plus

Eligibility for SalesCamp

To be admitted and accepted into the program, you must be:
  • Être en recherche active d'emploi et prêt à saisir les opportunités d'emploi dans le domaine de la vente de technologies.
  • Être en mesure de travailler légalement au Canada 
  • Ne pas être un étudiant à temps plein.
  • Être une personne très motivée, à la recherche active de nouvelles opportunités.
  • Avoir au moins 3 ans d'expérience professionnelle formelle au Canada ou à l'étranger.
  • Avoir un niveau d'anglais de 8 dans le cadre des NCLC ou de 6,5 dans le cadre de l'IELTS.
  • Être disponible pour les sessions Zoom, dont beaucoup seront à temps plein.
  • Être capable de participer à des journées de réseautage dans le cadre de la programmation régulière et s'engager à le faire.
  • Être à l'aise avec la technologie et l'apprentissage en ligne.
  • Vivre ou avoir l'intention de vivre dans la province où le programme est offert.
  • Disposer d'une connexion Internet fiable, d'un appareil et d'un environnement calme pour l'apprentissage virtuel.
  • S'engager et être capable de rejoindre le Main d'œuvre canadienne à temps plein immédiatement après le programme.
You may not be eligible if:
  • You do not pass our application and/or interview skills assessment. 
  • You are not actively searching or able to start a job in business-to-business tech sales.
  • You are not able to legally work in Canada.
  • You do not reside in the province where the program is operating.
  • You are going to school full-time.
  • You do not have three years of work experience outside of your studies.
  • You are interested in taking SalesCamp solely for learning purposes, but are building your own business and not intending to work in the field.

Télécharger la fiche d'information

Télécharger la fiche d'information

S'abonner à notre newsletter

Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir les mises à jour, les promotions et les avant-premières des cours à venir. Plus 20% de réduction sur votre prochaine commande.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue

fbpx

Digital agriculture is about people, too: an interview with Berokh Haghdan

The sophisticated tech taught in Palette Skills' Digital Agriculture Specialist Program is exciting. But it's worthwhile remembering that no matter what kind of technology is involved, agriculture is about food, and about people. So we sat down one of the program's alumni to get at the very human side of the story.

It’s no secret that at Palette Skills, we are pretty thrilled about our new Digital Agricultural Specialist Program. Developed in conjunction with the University of Saskatchewan, Protein Industries Canada, and the Enterprise Machine Intelligence and Learning Initiative (EMILI), the intensive upskilling program prepares participants for the world of digital and precision agriculture.

Of course, the sophisticated tech taught in the program is exciting. But at the same time, it’s worthwhile remembering that no matter what kind of technology is involved, agriculture is about food, and about people. That’s why we decided to sit down with one of the program’s recent alumni, Berokh Haghdan, and learn a little more about her, and what brought her to the Digital Agriculture Specialist Program this summer.

Berokh Haghdan is an energetic and outgoing person who emigrated to Canada a little less than two years ago from Shiraz, in south central Iran. She has a Bachelor’s degree in soil science, and a Master’s in irrigation and drainage. We wanted to know what made her interested in our Digital Agriculture program, but we also wanted to find out how the program fit in with her broader concerns for women, and for community.

What made you interested in agtech, and what made you apply for the Digital Agriculture Specialist Program?

You know in addition to my educational background, I have 18 years of experience in the agricultural industry but all of it was back home in Iran. Then I came to Canada, and to Saskatchewan, through the Provincial Nominee Program (PNP), and I decided I wanted to get back into agriculture because of my knowledge and experience. So when I found the Digital Agriculture Specialist Program through Palette Skills I was so excited, because it was such a great way to learn more about Canada’s and Saskatchewan’s agricultural industry.

How did you find out about the Digital Agriculture Specialist Program?

I am kind of a creative person. I’m active on Instragram and on social media, and so I saw an advertisement for the program, and went to the website, and I read all the information and it looked so exciting. It looked like a great way to learn about the industry, and find the right fit for my career, so I decided to participate.

What parts of the program made you most excited?

I had a lot of knowledge about agriculture. In my country, agriculture is the second most important industry there. I knew a lot, but when I participated in the program I found out many things I did not know. Here in Saskatchewan the weather is different, the situation is different. For example, where I come from, most of the fields are irrigated, because it’s a dry part of the world. So it was really interesting for me when I saw that all of the farms here in Saskatchewan are dryland.

All of the information I got from this course was really wonderful. I liked all the parts, and I learned many things from each section.

Why do you think that a program like this is important for women? Why is it important for women to participate in this kind of work?

You know, I am a feminist, and I believe women can have an influence in all sections of the community. Women’s sphere is really wide. We can have a technical vision, and at the same time women can have great soft skills. When a woman has great technical skills, softer skills, and leadership skills, they can make a big difference in the world.

In the traditional agriculture industry it is usually just for men. So we need to show women that they have enough power and knowledge to make a difference in this industry. I think with all of our knowledge and skills, women can make a special kind of difference.

Berokh, what are your plans and your aspirations for yourself, now that you’ve finished this program?

As I found out through this course, to get a good career in agriculture in Canada and Saskatchewan, you need to have good networking skills. And networking doesn’t just mean showing up and asking different people for a job. You need to have solid relationships with people or institutions, like Palette Skills, who can introduce you to industry leaders.

I found the networking events in the course really helpful, and also when they helped me create a really professional résumé that really communicated my skills and experience. So through these networking events and this program, I got an interview with a really good company who are involved in one of the biggest infrastructure projects for agriculture in the province. I had an interview with them, and right now I am waiting for the response.

You know, without the support from the Palette Skills team, I believe I would never have made this interview.

What would you say to someone who is thinking about taking this program from Palette Skills?

You know I told all my friends you should participate in this program, because it’s not just about learning technical things about agriculture. There are lots of other things, like developing professional skills, and learning how to participate in networking events. And these things really help you to find yourself. The most important thing that I got from this program was confidence. The program showed me I can make a difference in the agricultural industry, and in my community, too.

Are you ready to apply?

If you are ready to jump into a new career in digital agriculture, apply to the program today!

Subscribe Newsletter

Keep up to date & stay in touch with all things Palette Skills

Follow us
Recent posts
Talent Recruitment Hired Hippo
Hiring tools

The CEO of HiredHippo talks recruitment and retention

HiredHippo is a wildly successful recruitment platform that uses sophisticated tech to connect the right people to the right jobs. Talent that joins SalesCamp will have exclusive access to HiredHippo services and get matched with the top high growth companies.

Read More »

Download the Fact Sheet

Subscribe to our newsletter

Sign up to receive updates, promotions, and sneak peaks of upcoming course. Plus 20% off your next order.

Promotion nulla vitae elit libero a pharetra augue